PR In Progress

Icon

Thoughts on Public Relations, Communications, Social Media, Sports and anything else in my life…

Lessons Learned and the End of an Era

First off, this post marks the end of my last undergraduate semester.

In four years I have successfully completed a degree in Mass Communications at USF, held two outstanding internships, been Account Executive for the USF Bateman team, served on the USF PRSSA executive board and held  a steady job. I think I have done everything in my power to prepare myself for the next step in public relations–full-time employment!

Now, to properly end the semester, I must impart some recently aquired wisdom to anyone who wishes to listen:

1. Recommend no one unless you are certain they can do a better job than you.
Yesterday I learned that recommendations should not be something to take lightly. Regardless of how well you know a person, be very careful putting your reputation on the line for someone else’s sake. I recommended a friend–a very intelligent, hard-working person–for an internship, but they did not take the time to draft a professional email nor did they show any indication that they were prepared/capable of the duties required. Needless to say, I felt embarrassed by their lack of effort and poor reflection of my personal recommendation.

2. Use words wisely when writing.
Sounds simple enough, but sometimes you may use a word that sounds great, but it implies something else. Easy example: I used the word celebrate in a writing, but didn’t think to check to see if there really was a celebration for this occurrence. Instead, there was just a public acknowledgment. Take the time to read over everything to make sure your word choice is accurate and effective.

3. Do not underestimate the  damage liquid can do to electronics.
My wonderful German Shepherd accidentally knocked over my coffee last night with her tail and spilled it all over my brand new Lenovo IdeaPad. The laptop went crazy last night, but after letting it sit overnight and allowing the liquid to dry, it is working well now. Therefore, do not drink near any high-priced electronics unless you can afford to replace it because most warranties will not cover this type of accident.

4. Do not stress over things until you know the full scope.
When challenges arise or new things present themselves, it is human nature to stress and sometimes react to uncertainties. This semester I learned to simply calm down, look at the situation and see what options are available to handle the situation. The less time you spend worrying about the what-ifs, the more time you have to coherently adapt to these changes and move on. Life is too short to stress and worry, so put a smile on and enjoy the ride.

That’s about all for now. I’ll be sure to add to the list as I acquire new wisdom to pass on.

What are some wise words that you would like to share? Any insider secrets to the world of public relations, life, etc.? I’d love to hear them and learn!

Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

