PR In Progress

Icon

Thoughts on Public Relations, Communications, Social Media, Sports and anything else in my life…

Something Larger Than Myself

This is going to be a very eclectic post.

First off, I’d like to thank the 2008-2009 USF PRSSA Executive Board for allowing me the opportunity to join them. Two weeks ago, Lauren Opelt, President of the Walter E. Griscti Chapter of PRSSA, offered me the Director of Markting position for our chapter and I accepted. By accepting this position, I join a team of very talented and remarkable PR students that will lead the chapter to great success.

That being said, I can’t help but feel overwhelmed by this. I believe most of my anxiousness is derived from treading into uncharted waters. This is a completely new experience and therein lies the most exciting aspect. I have to jump headfirst into an area which I know little about and push the limits of my own abilities. Luckily, I will not be alone. I have the full support of my peers and I know everything will turn out fine.

Aside from that, I have found my way onto Twitter. Like many people, I was very skeptical of Twitter at first. After reading Lara Kretler’s blog, I decided to give Twitter a try and was very surprised at how intriguing it really is. Now, I have fully embraced Twitter and have even started to think of applications for Twitter in a PR classroom setting. TwitterReleases anyone?

After immersing myself in Twitter, I decided that I should dedicate more time to social media. I then proceeded to create a MyRagan account and a LinkedIn account. I found out fast that the social media bug is highly infectious. The best part about social media is the fact that we’ve only scratched the surface of possibilities. I can’t wait to see the next new thing!

Thank you for reading all the way through this post. It was very scattered, but I needed to put into writing what I was thinking. Hopefully, I will see all of you on Twitter, myRagan, and LinkedIn!

Filed under: Uncategorized

4 Responses

  1. larak says:

    Hi Nate, thanks for the shout out and I’m so glad you’ve joined Twitter. I’m going to add you on MyRagan and LinkedIn, too. If you’re looking for other PR and social media related networks, check out my “Connect with me” links on my blog. There are several others you may be interested in joining. Cheers and I’ll see you out there in social media land!

  2. Dris says:

    Congrats on the appointment Nate! I’m sure you will continue to have a lot of support as you step into the new role. You’re definitely headed in the right direction by blogging and getting familiar with all of the different social networking options out there. I just recently joined Twitter, but I haven’t really been active so far. I’ve been experimenting with my personal blog and tools like Technorati and del.icio.us, just trying to get familar with how the different pieces work. I really love what you’ve done here so far– keep it up!

  3. Emma Hauser says:

    Hey Nate! Great blog. We are all extremely fortunate to have you on our Eboard. This year is gonna be fantastic!

  4. Alisha Levin says:

    Nate,

    Congrats on your PRSSA position! I’m sure you’ll be an awesome director of marketing. I’m going to make a bigger effort to make it to PRSSA meetings/events in the fall!

    Thanks for the the acknowledgment in your most recent post! It’s great that your project has gotten you hooked on social media. I agree, it’s definitely addicting!

Leave a Reply

